Introducing Myself

Introducing Myself

Hello Everyone! Thanks for dropping by! 😄

I am Vani Chitkara and I hail from New Delhi, India. I am an undergraduate student, pursuing my degree in Electronics and Communication Engineering (ECE) from Indira Gandhi Delhi Technical University for Women (IGDTUW, even the acronym is long!😆). I started coding when I was in high school, and I am also into web development and graphic designing.

You’d usually find me listening to music, watching movies or TV series, or scrolling through social media in my spare time. I am a music lover and have been playing the keyboard since I was 5. I am on a mission to learn as many musical instruments as I can and for now, I can play keyboard, harmonium, xylophone. Not only that, but I plan to learn how to play the flute, guitar, and membranophone instruments like cajon and djembe drum.

My core values are:

  • Curiosity: I love to learn and explore new things. My hunger for gaining knowledge has kept me motivated to learn about new cultures, languages, and technology. My ability to learn the right and unlearn the wrong has aided my growth as an individual and I have become better at accepting and welcoming changes.
  • Compassion: I love to help the people around me and help them in solving their problems. This quality of mine helped me to come out of my introverted shell and make more friends and lifelong connections.
  • Courage: I have always believed in being bold and courageous. I am never afraid to speak my mind, and I welcome criticism and correct myself whenever I am wrong. After all, accepting your mistakes and improving yourself is a courageous deed!

Getting selected as an Outreachy intern has been the most amazing thing that has ever happened to me. I got to know about open source programs in October last year when Hacktoberfest was about to begin, and I became very curious to know about open source. I decided to apply for the Outreachy May 2021 internship tenure, and I worked very diligently during the contribution period, but wasn’t expecting to get selected as an intern on the first go! Contributing to the projects during the contribution period was so much fun, and it gave me the chance to get a hands-on experience with some tools and technologies that I didn’t explore before. The next three months of the internship are going to be a great learning experience, and I’m really looking forward to it!

Leave a comment